Lost Laurel… in Hyattsville

You could say that the Prince George’s County Library System is in my DNA. Since I was a kid, I’ve loved libraries; it’s no wonder that my very first job was at the Stanley Memorial Library, where I ended up working as a clerical aide from 1987 to 1997. Not only that, but just before I was born, my mom worked at the Hyattsville Branch. (We actually lived in Hyattsville just before moving to Laurel in 1976). That was the first library I’d ever visited—and I literally thought it was out of this world:

(Photo:  © Prince George's County Memorial Library System)

The Hyattsville Branch’s iconic “flying saucer” entrance. (Photo: © Prince George’s County Memorial Library System)

I made the trek to the Hyattsville Branch today for a very special reason. My book, Lost Laurel, was recently added to the PGCMLS collection—and a reference copy is now on the shelf in the historic Maryland Room! It sounds cheesy, but I wanted to visit it.

IMG_3702

Sure enough, tucked between larger, older volumes, there it was—bearing Dewey Decimal System label MDR 975.251 FRI.

IMG_3677 IMG_3678 IMG_3679  IMG_3683IMG_3681 IMG_3686 IMG_3687 IMG_3689 IMG_3691 IMG_3692 IMG_3693 IMG_3694 IMG_3697 IMG_3701

I spent a few quality minutes browsing the other shelves, too. The fact that I had the Maryland Room all to myself today made the visit all the more special. (And yes, the clerical aide in me couldn’t resist re-shelving a few books I spotted that were out of place. Old habits die hard…)

I’m still sad that the old Stanley Memorial Library where I worked is completely gone now, although Laurel certainly did need an upgrade. And significant progress is finally being made on the new Laurel Branch. PGCMLS has an official Flickr album with frequent updates.

(Photo: © Prince George's County Memorial Library System)

(Photo: © Prince George’s County Memorial Library System)

Admittedly, I’m much more excited to see it completed now than I was a few months ago. I’m even more excited to see some Lost Laurel books on those brand new shelves.

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Lost Laurel… in Hyattsville

  1. Jim McCeney says:

    Good piece. Thanks, Jim

    Sent from my iPod

    >

  2. dknieriem says:

    Very nice. Forgive my ignorance of Library procedures… but couldn’t there be more than one copy? And should a copy not be available in the regular stacks? And shouldn’t Lost Laurel be resting on the display of “New Books In The Maryland Room”?
    Just curious – and gratz on having a book in the library system!

Leave a Reply

